Lixor

Canadian bars, pubs and clubs · 2026

Bar inventory apps for Canada, compared

Eight apps: four with a real Canadian footprint, four US products worth a look, and how each one counts liquor.

Last verified: September 2026We built Lixor, and it is on this list. Where another app fits better, we say so.

What they charge

Monthly prices as each company publishes them, read on the day we checked.

Prices as each company publishes them

Only Lixor publishes Canadian-dollar prices that we could find. Every other price is shown as written and never converted.

  • LixorFrom CA$79 a month
  • WISK$249, currency not stated
  • BevSpot$948 a year (Starter)
  • BackbarFree, then from $79
  • MarginEdge with Freepour$350, plus $150 for Freepour
  • Sculpture Hospitality$199 plus setup
  • Bar Patrol$69 monthly, $49 annual
  • Partender$199 annual, $299 monthly

Prices are per month. Any taxes that apply are added on top. None of the other pages we read say whether prices include GST or HST, or which currency the dollar figures are in. Ask each company before you budget.

Side by side

Every app on the same five points.

VoiceBarcode scanBluetooth scaleTap the levelManual countEPoS-driven
Counting method, free trial, hardware, platforms and Canadian dollars price for each app
AppCounting methodFree trialHardwarePlatformsPrice (CAD)
LixorVoice, hands-free30 days, no cardYour own phoneiPhone, Android, web dashboardFrom CA$79 a month
WISKBluetooth scale and barcode scannerNone, 60-day money-backBluetooth scale and scanner, bought separatelyiOS app, web portalFrom $249 a month, currency not stated
BevSpotNot described on the pricing pageFree trial, full featuresNot stated"Inventory on any device"; no iOS app foundStarter $948 a year, currency not stated
BackbarBarcode scanning on web, iOS and AndroidOne month on paid plansYour own deviceWeb, iOS, AndroidFree plan, paid from $79 a month, currency not stated
MarginEdge with FreepourFreepour add-on: weigh liquor on a scaleNot statedFreepour scale, from MarginEdgeMobile app, web$350 a month per location, currency not stated
Sculpture HospitalityApp with scanners and scales, plus consultant auditsNot statedScanners and scalesMobile app, web dashboardSelf Service $199 a month plus setup, currency not stated
Bar PatrolPoint count or weigh on a Bluetooth scaleFree test-drive accountBluetooth scale, $159 outside the US per its FAQiOS app, cloud dashboard$69 a month, $49 on an annual plan, currency not stated
PartenderTap the level on a bottle image14 daysNoneiOS, Android, webFrom $199 a month annual, currency not stated

Swipe the table sideways. The app names stay in place.

1

Read on the day

Every competitor price and feature was read on 29 September 2026 from the page linked in its card.

2

Nothing converted

Canadian-dollar prices are as published, and only Lixor publishes one that we found. Other prices are shown as written, never converted.

3

Gaps stay gaps

Where a company does not publish something, we say "not stated" instead of guessing. No other page says whether GST or HST is included. Lixor says its prices are per month and applicable taxes are added on top.

The 4 apps with a Canadian footprint

Open Details and sources on any card for the longer notes and the pages we read.

  • Lixor

    We built this
    Voice, hands-free

    From CA$79 a month

    Best for: Bars that want to count liquor by voice, and teams counting together

    • Pro: Voice-first, hands-free: no scanning or weighing every bottle
    • Pro: Counts without signal in a cellar (solo counts)
    • Con: Only Toast is connected directly for Canadian tills today
    • Con: No supplier ordering listed, and no automatic delivery-invoice feed in Canada yet
    Start your free trial
    Details and sources

    How counting works

    • In "Lixor leads" the app reads each bottle out in shelf order and you say the count. In "You lead" you call the bottle and the count in any order and it echoes each one back.
    • If a name is not recognised it asks again and holds anything unmatched for a quick review at the end.
    • Counts work without signal: open the area once online, then count in the cellar. Solo counts sync later. Team counting still needs a connection.

    Canada set-up

    • New bottles default to 750 ml, 1 oz and 1.5 oz pours are offered, and amounts show in Canadian dollars. The tax line is labelled GST/HST and Lixor never calculates it for you.

    Plans, in Canadian dollars

    • Essentials CA$79 a month: one user plus free view-only owner access, voice counting, unlimited inventories, Excel reports.
    • Teams CA$169 a month: 5 users, then CA$19 for each extra. Adds team counting and permissions.
    • Premium CA$289 a month: unlimited users, till connection, pour cost, variance reports, invoice scanning on the phone app.
    • Prices are per month. Any taxes that apply are added on top.

    Tills

    • Toast is connected in Canada today. For Lightspeed, TouchBistro, Square or Clover, tell us and we connect it, but only Toast is live now.

    Other limits

    • A newer company with a smaller user base than some names here.
    • Offline counting is solo only.

    Sources

  • WISK

    Bluetooth scale and barcode scanner

    From $249 a month, currency not stated

    Best for: Data-heavy bars and hotels on iPhone or iPad

    • Pro: Bluetooth scale measurement and recipe costing on every tier
    • Pro: On the Canadian App Store, updated 28 September 2026
    • Con: Price page does not say which currency the dollars are in
    • Con: No Android app, no free trial and a $750 setup fee
    Details and sources

    How counting works

    • You weigh bottles on a supported Bluetooth scale and look items up with a barcode scanner, on an iPhone or iPad. WISK's help centre describes its "hands-free counting" as barcode scanning, not voice.
    • There is no Android app, and the web portal on Android does not support the scanner or the scale.

    Pricing (dollars, currency not stated)

    • Single venue, beverage only: $249 a month. Food only is also $249; food and beverage bundle $399. Multi-outlet beverage is $499, $899 or $1,250 by outlet band.
    • One-time implementation fee $750 for a single venue. No free trial, 60-day money-back guarantee. The page does not name a currency and shows no Canadian-dollar option.
    • Lists 60+ POS integrations on the paid plans, and names Toast and Lightspeed. Which Canadian tills are supported is not on the page, so ask.

    Sources

  • MarginEdge with Freepour

    Freepour add-on: weigh liquor on a scale

    $350 a month per location, currency not stated

    Best for: Restaurants with a bar that want invoices, recipes and liquor in one system

    • Pro: Invoices, recipe costing and a daily P&L in the base plan
    • Pro: Freepour weighs liquor on a scale, and its FAQ refers to Canadian clients
    • Con: A restaurant back office, priced above the bar-only tools here
    • Con: Bill Pay is not offered to Canadian clients
    Details and sources

    What the pricing page says

    • MarginEdge $350 a month per location. MarginEdge with Freepour bundle $500 a month per location, so Freepour adds $150. Annual billing takes 10% off. The page does not name a currency.
    • Toast users pay Toast a separate $50 a month per location for the Restaurant Management Suite. Its FAQ says it does not offer Bill Pay for Canadian clients.
    • Setup is through optional paid onboarding packages, with no traditional setup fee.

    Freepour

    • Freepour is MarginEdge's liquor inventory add-on that weighs bottles on a scale. Its page carries a testimonial from a Banff bar, which is the company's own material, not our finding. There is a "$500 fee for scales not returned".

    Sources

  • Sculpture Hospitality

    App with scanners and scales, plus consultant audits

    Self Service $199 a month plus setup, currency not stated

    Best for: Groups that want a local consultant to help or do the count

    • Pro: Local consultants across Canada, with an Ontario regional director
    • Pro: Self service, shared service and full service levels
    • Con: Only the Self Service price is published, and it names no currency
    • Con: Shared and full service are quoted per location
    Details and sources

    What the pages say

    • A hybrid of software and service: "Your team counts food and beverage with our app. We handle the data entry, reporting, spot checks, and variance review behind the scenes." Its site lists Canada (all provinces) among its regions.
    • Its Ontario page names a regional director. Its App Store description says the app connects to scanners and scales.

    Pricing

    • Self Service: "$199 per month + setup". Shared Service and Full Service are "Custom - Varies upon location", and in full service the consultant does the counting. The page does not name a currency, and the price is for beverage inventory. Food is quoted.

    Sources

Also worth a look

US products we could not tie to Canada: dollar prices with no currency named, nothing published for Canada and few or no Canadian ratings.

  • BevSpot. US product; prices in dollars with no currency named; nothing published for Canada, and we found no BevSpot app in the Canadian App Store. Free trial with full features; Starter $948 a year and Standard $1,428 a year, Pro shown as "$249 Per Annually" with the period unclear. One-click ordering, and free POS links for Lightspeed, Square, Toast and Upserve on Pro. Its guide describes counting by eye in tenths; the pricing page does not describe a counting method. BevSpot plans and pricing, BevSpot bar inventory guide
  • Backbar. US product; prices in dollars with no currency named; nothing published for Canada, and 2 ratings on the Canadian App Store. Free Basic plan, paid plans from $79 a month with one month free. Scans barcodes on web, iOS and Android, with Toast, Square and Shift4 for tills and one-click purchasing on the paid plans. Backbar pricing, App Store Canada listing
  • Bar Patrol. US product; prices in dollars with no currency named; nothing published for Canada, and 2 ratings on the Canadian App Store. $69 a month, or $49 a month on a yearly plan, with every feature included. The Bluetooth scale is a one-time cost, listed at $159 "if you're out of the country", shipping included. Point count or weigh with the scale; POS sales data is exported and uploaded. Bar Patrol pricing FAQ, App Store Canada listing
  • Partender. US product; prices in dollars with no currency named; nothing published for Canada, and its Canadian App Store listing was last updated in January 2022 (15 ratings). Tap where the liquid sits on each bottle; Pro Monthly $299 a month and Pro Annual $199 a month paid annually, with a 14-day free trial. Partender pricing, App Store Canada listing

Where Lixor is strong

  • Hands-free by voice

    Say each level as you walk the bar. The phone stays in your pocket. We found no voice counting on the other pages here.

  • Counts in the cellar

    Open the area online once, then count with no signal. Solo counts sync when you are back in range.

  • Set up for Canada

    750 ml default bottles, 1 oz and 1.5 oz pours, prices in Canadian dollars and a GST/HST label.

Essentials
CA$79 a month
One user, plus free view-only access for owners
Teams
CA$169 a month
5 users, then CA$19 for each extra
Premium
CA$289 a month
Unlimited users, till connection, variance reports

Prices are per month. Any taxes that apply are added on top.

Who should not pick Lixor

We would rather you know now than find out in a fortnight.

  • Restaurants that want food and drink costed together

    Lixor has no automatic delivery-invoice feed in Canada yet, and only Toast is connected directly for tills. MarginEdge is built around invoices, recipes and a daily P&L.

    Look at MarginEdge with Freepour
  • Groups that want a consultant to run the count

    Lixor is your own count. Sculpture Hospitality lists local consultants across Canada, including a full service level where the consultant does the counting.

    Look at Sculpture Hospitality
  • Bars that want to weigh every bottle

    Lixor counts liquor by voice and does not scan barcodes. If your team would rather weigh bottles on a Bluetooth scale, WISK and Bar Patrol are built around one.

    Look at WISK
  • Bars that want ordering built in

    Supplier ordering is not something Lixor lists. BevSpot offers one-click ordering, and Backbar sends orders to distributors with one click.

    Look at BevSpot

What a liquor inventory tells you

Usage and cost

A regular count shows how much of each product you used and what it cost you, so you can see where profit is going.

Source: BevSpot

Variance

The gap between what you should have and what you count. BevSpot puts it as "where is your shrinkage (or lost profits) coming from".

Source: BevSpot

BevSpot advises keeping your inventory periods consistent, "weekly, bi-weekly or monthly". Its guide describes counting partial bottles by eye in tenths, which is the method Partender turns into a tap. Source: BevSpot

Questions

The short answers, from the same sources as the cards above.

What is a bar inventory, and how often should you count?

A bar inventory is a count of the liquor, beer and wine you hold, set against what you bought and sold, so you can see where stock went missing. BevSpot advises keeping your inventory periods consistent, whether that is weekly, bi-weekly or monthly, and says the count shows product usage, cost of goods sold and variance.

How do you count a partly full bottle?

BevSpot describes the most common method as noting by eye how much liquid is in each bottle, in tenths. Partender turns that into a tap on a bottle image. WISK, Bar Patrol and MarginEdge with Freepour use a Bluetooth scale. Lixor counts by voice: you say the level out loud.

How much do bar inventory apps cost in Canada?

Lixor starts at CA$79 a month. We found no other company that publishes a Canadian-dollar price. Backbar has a free plan and paid plans from $79 a month, BevSpot lists $948 a year for Starter, MarginEdge is $350 a month per location, and WISK is $249 a month, all in dollars with no currency named on the page.

Can I count liquor by voice?

Lixor counts by voice, hands-free. We found no voice counting listed on the pages of the other apps in this guide.

Do these apps connect to Canadian tills?

It varies. Lixor Premium connects to Toast today, and other tills such as Lightspeed, TouchBistro, Square or Clover on request. BevSpot connects Lightspeed, Square, Toast and Upserve free on Pro. Backbar lists Toast, Square and Shift4. WISK and MarginEdge list 60+ POS systems. Check that your own till is on the list before you sign up.

Do the prices include GST or HST?

Lixor prices are per month, and any taxes that apply are added on top. The other pages we read do not say whether GST or HST is included, so ask each company before you budget.

Do I need a stocktaking service as well as an app?

Not always. An app lets you count for yourself, while a service such as Sculpture Hospitality can have a consultant count with you or for you. Some owners use both, an outside count now and then and their own count in between.

Try Lixor free for 30 days

Time a real count with your own team. No credit card.